I confess to my challenge with the 8 worldly dhammas and appreciate Lynn J Kelly’s explanation below that equanimity is the combination of metta, compassion and appreciative joy. Thank you, Lynn!

The Buddha's Advice to Laypeople

The fourth of the divine mind states that the Buddha recommended cultivating is Equanimity (upekkhā).

Equanimity in Buddhism and Its Cultivation - One Mind Dharma

From the Therigatha:
If your mind becomes firm like a rock
and no longer shakes
In a world where everything is shaking
Your mind will be your greatest friend
and suffering will not come your way.

To have a mind that is our greatest friend – that’s something that most of us want. The mind that doesn’t shake is a description of the mind that is equanimous. (Shaila Catherine, https://www.imsb.org/prev/teachings/equanimity.php)

In a way, equanimity is the combination of the three previous sublime mind states: mettā, compassion, and appreciative joy. When these three are well-developed, equanimity prevails.

The Buddha’s definition of equanimity is not to be confused with indifference or stoicism. It is more like an inflated punching bag with a weight at the bottom. You knock it over and it springs…

View original post 289 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s